Aaron in Azerbaijan

Just another blog about Azerbaijan.

A Glimpse Into Home Life

leave a comment »

I think it’d be fair to say that home life can be relatively stressful here for an individual like me, in a family like this.  As I’ve said before, this is a very well-meaning family, but they can be a bit in-your-face sometimes.  To say that it sounds like they are relatively quick-tempered might be an understatement (I say “sounds like” because I don’t know what they’re saying).  And there certainly is very little gentleness expressed when that temper rises.  It’s almost impressive.  One of the big things that I’ve noticed (it’s hard not to notice), is the serious lack of patience with Sǝvinc.  Most of the time, this has to do with Sǝvinc’s seeming inability to do any of her homework by herself.  She’s very good at whining, putting her head down, and then somehow getting other family members to do her homework for her.  At times I feel bad for her because of the seemingly harsh verbal beating she’ll take, but then I’ll recall how much she whines and complains, and that dampens it a bit.  One thing to remember is that Azerbaijan has not had a C. Everett Koop in their history, and things like psychology don’t seem to play a big role here in child-rearing.

Just to make sure the picture is balanced, as it is in real life, Sǝvinc is also treated to many hugs and kisses from the family members.  Since she’s the only daughter, and there is at least some affection for daughters around here, they treat her well otherwise.  I have a feeling, though, that if she would do her homework herself, those tempers might not rage like they do.  Even more impressive is that the tempers drop in no time at all, going back to normal in the blink of an eye.  I’m not sure what the situation is in other families with similar make-ups, but this is the experience I’m getting.

For you who know anything about me or my family in the US, you might suppose that this is quite different from my own experience growing up.  You suppose correctly.

Overall, as I’ve said before, these folks are very well-meaning, extremely hospitable, and generally good.  They’re just a little louder than I was expecting.

Written by Aaron

November 29, 2009 at 5:28 am

Posted in Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

