Aaron in Azerbaijan

Just another blog about Azerbaijan.

Azerbaijani Accountants Dig Whitney Houston

with 3 comments

You might think that American cultural icons have managed to penetrate Azerbaijani consciousness. You are right. In and of itself, this is a good thing. What makes it even better are the seemingly oddly-chosen cultural features that stream from Azerbaijani cellphones and TV sets. Nearing more than three months living here, I am still blown away. My colleagues at the credit union started blasting Whitney Houston’s The Bodyguard soundtrack the other day, and they were ecstatic! My accountant friends from Araz and the other credit union nearby were all about Whitney’s “I Will Always Love You.”  I’m certainly aware of the awesomeness that Whitney Houston projects when it comes to music, but I had no idea that Azerbaijan felt so strongly about her musical brilliance! Needless to say, I’m looking forward to another day at work, rockin’ out to some Russian hits, a few Azerbaijani dance beats, and the best of Whitney Houston.

Written by Aaron

December 28, 2009 at 1:34 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Ahhhhh!!! I love love love Whitney Houston, I can’t wait to eventually visit you, I can tell I’ll fit right in there. I’ll bring my other W.H. CDs and really broaden their horizons.
    Miss ya!!!!!! I’m catching back up on your blog tonight so don’t get mad when you see 1500934 other comments!
    Rachel

    Rachel

    January 13, 2010 at 3:50 am

  2. […] countrymen.  Most of the popular songs are either of Turkish or American origin.  The Elton and Whitney phenomena aside, it’s nearly guaranteed that I will be serenaded to the musical stylings of […]

  3. […] about the music emanating from cellphones and other sources before.  Among them Elton John and Whitney Houston.  It sounds like a new wave is hitting.  The big things now at the AccessBank office is Phil […]


Leave a Reply

