Aaron in Azerbaijan

Just another blog about Azerbaijan.

Azerbaijani Basketball

with one comment

It’s like playing with the Globetrotters, but with a lot more arguing and tackling.  They play a pretty rough game here.  But we have a good deal of fun.

I’ve started playing with a group of guys, 12-14 or so, who are probably between 25 and 40, with a couple kids who are probably about 18.  Eli, my site mate, started playing with them a few weeks ago, and I’ve been invited along.  I’m taller than Eli, so I attracted even more attention stepping onto the court.  There’s a guy who plays the part of referee, and he tries really hard.  He’s pretty good at blowing the whistle, and we appreciate his attempts to at least keep a semblance of a fair game. The best part is that the court is in a cold school gym, with pretty rough boards for the court, and one of the hoops appears to be about a foot too tall. You might miss a shot by a mile, or when dribbling the ball will jump away from you, but it just adds a little spice to the game.

The first game we played, things heated up real quick.  At one point, one of the football players complained that I was “playing real basketball.  We don’t play that type of basketball, here.”  This was after he threw his shoulder into my face and followed that up by complaining about me.  But after a few runs up and down the court, we got things back in order, and I think I did well enough that they accepted me as a reasonably okay guy.

OH! and this is also the first opportunity I have had to wear shorts!  I’ve been wearing shorts when running, but with running tights underneath.  Here, I’ve gone all out, playing in just shorts and a t-shirt.  This is remarkably freeing.  Even in the cold gym, it feels great.

Written by Aaron

January 9, 2010 at 1:26 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. […] playing basketball with our fellow Azerbaijani athletes.  I first wrote about our basketball games here.  This update is for two reasons, however.  First, a new guy came to play on Tuesday, a young guy […]


Leave a Reply

