Aaron in Azerbaijan

Just another blog about Azerbaijan.

My Bus Driver Looks Like a President!

leave a comment »

This is a rather mundane post, but who doesn’t want to hear about my typical morning commute?  I walk out from the village, across the street into the city, and stand outside a small convenience store, which is next to a Turkish private school here.  One of the taxi drivers always says hello to me and the convenience store man usually mouths a “Salam” and gives me a hand gesture that means “how are you?” I respond with a mouthed “Salam” and manage to say “I’m well, thanks, how are you?” with the same hand gesture back.  It’s great.

This is nice.  But the most interesting feature of the morning commute is the bus ride.  Not really because anything special happens (never does), or that there is any interesting scenery (there isn’t), but instead, I look forward to saying hello to my bus driver, Mahmoud Ahmadinejad.

Okay, so it isn’t really the president of an Axis of Evil country, but this guy carries an impeccable resemblance to our good friend Mahmoud.  His hair is cut a little shorter, and I think Mahmoud’s eyes may be set a little deeper, but other than that he’s a dead-on match.  It’s amusing to think that I’m being driven to work by the leader of an Axis of Evil country, or at least maybe his brother.  I also like to think that Mahmoud has the same jovial disposition.  Maybe Mahmoud could use a few years behind the wheel of a bus to get a little perspective, huh?

Written by Aaron

January 18, 2010 at 11:01 am

Posted in Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

