Aaron in Azerbaijan

Just another blog about Azerbaijan.

Potatoes

leave a comment »

Coming from the bitter cold state of Wisconsin, and having grown up on a farm, I know my planting seasons reasonably well.  Which is why I was blown away when I saw on TV a few weeks ago that the farmers in Cəlilabad, a region about an hour or two north of Lənkəran, were planting potatoes.  It’s January!  And we’ve still got February to get through!  Admittedly, everyone is telling me that we are having, yet again, a mild winter.  And I’m told that it doesn’t get too cold around here, maybe a little below freezing at it’s coldest.  But with February, the south’s coldest month, looming you might think they would hold back on planting those wedges.  My understanding is that potatoes like the cool weather, and that when planting potatoes, it’s good to plant them early because they really don’t like the hot.  It gets hot here in the summer, so the early planting makes some sense.  But if my Cəlilabad countrymen are planting the potatoes now, I would think that the plants would start coming up just as February is doing her worst.  No potato plant wants to burst on the scene only to be greeted by a freeze, right?

I’m not sure yet how I’m going to track the success of the Cəlilabad potato crop, but sometime I’d like to see how they’re doing it.  If you’re interested in learning more about planting potatoes, the Mother Earth website has a nice article here.

Written by Aaron

January 26, 2010 at 5:23 am

Posted in Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

