Aaron in Azerbaijan

Just another blog about Azerbaijan.

They Might Have Cancelled School in Baku

leave a comment »

I’m not really sure, I guess.  I don’t know how school cancellations work here.  But if they had the opportunity to cancel school today, they would have.  The streets are being blown away by gale-force winds, and the snow is pelting everything in sight.  I think it would be fair to say that it’s a pretty strong snow storm.

We, Eli, Jessica, and I, arrived this morning in Baku, disembarking from our night train.  We were met by the aforementioned winds and snow and cold.  It’s the first time it felt like winter since I’ve been here!  I didn’t realize how much I missed the snow and real cold weather!  After getting off the train, we wound our way to the metro subway station.  This is where I departed, took the metro from the May 28th station to the January 20th station, and walked the kilometer to the Peace Corps Lounge from there.  On my walk is where I witnessed the fall.  A woman was taking on a few steep steps, covered in snow and ice, and she slipped and landed hard on the top step.  I went to help her out, grabbed her hand, and then she looked at me and told me not to worry.  She then proceeded to slide the rest of the way down the steps on her butt.  Classic.

After slogging through the rest of the way to the lounge, I arrived to find out that I was, in fact, the first Volunteer to arrive today!  Major Peace Corps Points for me.  Shortly after me, Amanda and Eli found their way here, and now we are contemplating what the rest of our day is going to look like.  I’m supposed to make it to a meeting with the Azerbaijan Credit Union Association, but that is now up in the air.

Written by Aaron

February 5, 2010 at 7:02 am

Posted in Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

