Aaron in Azerbaijan

Just another blog about Azerbaijan.

America Takes Products, Gives Students

with one comment

Two of the more popular news stories coming out these days come from Today.Az.  First, my guy Don Lu made the announcement that,

We believe that Azerbaijan has quality products for sale, therefore, we are to spend millions of dollars to purchase products to support the Afghan people.

Brilliant.  I’m a little skeptical that he actually said it precisely like that.  He’s usually a little more eloquent.  Yet, the point stands.  I’m curious, however, what the calculations are that spell out how beneficial it will be to purchase goods from Azerbaijan and send them to Afghanistan.  I do like the idea of having the relations thaw a bit between Azerbaijan and America.  If increasing our purchases from Azerbaijan works to that effect, I’ll support that.

The other story I found interesting is that the University of Maryland is apparently sending a pair of students to Azerbaijan:

After a meticulous evaluation of numerous papers received, the Embassy announced two winners – Chinchu Harris and Hafie Yillah. The winners have been awarded round trip air tickets to Azerbaijan….Both winners will participate at the study courses in Baku dedicated to environmental issues, which are organized jointly by the University of Maryland and the Khazar University in Azerbaijan on May 21 – June 4, 2010. The participants will learn more about the ecology of Azerbaijan, the accomplished and current environmental projects and future plans in this field.

That last part is a little concerning.  Coming to Azerbaijan to learn about how to deal with environmental issues?  Maybe their angle is that Azerbaijan has a lot of environmental problems, so there’s a lot of material here to work with.  Congratulations to Chinchu and Hafie!

Written by Aaron

May 16, 2010 at 12:19 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Menim dostum =)
    First off,
    I think what your doing here is really awesome. I wish I had known about your blog before my trip to Baku. Myself and 5 other students participated in the trip to — as you said — learn about the environmental issues of the country, but also the mitigation efforts and measure being taken to promote a greener future.

    I speak for myself (but am sure the others will agree) when I say, I really enjoyed my time in Azerbaijan and hope to return if God permits. I left with a wealth of information and a new outlook on life.

    Keep me posted 😉

    Hafie Yillah

    June 5, 2010 at 10:12 pm


Leave a Reply

