Aaron in Azerbaijan

Just another blog about Azerbaijan.

The Tallest Flagpole is Adorned with a Giant Flag

with 3 comments

At least, that’s what the reports say.  I even have an eye-witness account informing me that there is, in fact, a flag now atop the largest flag pole in the world.  Last night, via SMS:

Giant flag in Baku. It’s up.

Perfect.  I’ve already told you about the tallest flagpole in the world, residing right here in Azerbaijan.  And now they’ve pulled out all the stops as the President has cruised up the Azerbaijani tri-color overlooking the Baku’s bay.  While it isn’t the biggest flag in the world (which would match nicely with the biggest flagpole), it is 2450 square meters.  That’s huge.  We’re talking about a flag that covers just over half of a football field.

I dare say that this is another great day for development in Azerbaijan.  I’m sure the the old ladies who sat together and knit this monster flag to withstand the Caspian winds are very proud of their work.  As they should be.  As soon as I find a good picture of the new flag, I’ll let you know.  Until then, here’s a gallery showing the president touring the National Flag Square two days ago, with his wife managing to look somewhat uncomfortable in every shot.

Update, 9/2/10: A picture from a news source has been found.  Click here to check out the glory of a tri-color monster banner in spotlights.  I can’t confirm this is a real picture of the flag (it’s an Azeri news source, after all).  This will have to do until I get a hold of a real picture of the beaut (thanks Nina and Kim!)

Written by Aaron

September 2, 2010 at 3:52 am

Posted in Uncategorized

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Aaron – I love your blog. I’m a Kiva Fellow in Baku, and the previous KF sent me the link. Your perspectives are hilarious, but also insightful. I’ll try to get a picture of the flag.

    If I get down to your area, I would love to meet you!

    Something interesting (funny) in today’s online paper: http://today.az/news/society/72922.html

    Best,
    Nina

    Nina Nelan

    September 2, 2010 at 10:36 am

  2. […] » Some kind folks, Kim and Nina, have contributed a small gallery of photos for you, the monster flag and the world’s biggest flag pole, in all their glory.  We’ve got some good angles […]

  3. […] The New Flag: This flag saga has continued without my watchful eye.  On Monday, I went to Baku, sans camera, and got to see the giant banner with my own eyes.  The thing is huge and cascades over the bay in nationalistic triumph.  Apparently they managed to get it back up after their little snafu. […]


Leave a Reply

