Aaron in Azerbaijan

Just another blog about Azerbaijan.

Another Case of the Moves, Ctd.

leave a comment »

When I moved in to my new apartment, one of the big questions was ‘Does it have a telephone line?’  While this might seem a little obscure for those in America, where having a home phone line doesn’t really afford you much and usage is going down in favor of a cellphone, this makes a big deal here.

The answer was, to my momentary relief, an ecstatic YES.  This was good news.  Having the home telephone meant that I could get a fast internet connection.  Since the fast internet here comes by way of DSL, you need the phone line to be able to hook in to the web.  Following this success, I went over to the local internet guy, Bəxtiyar, to request internet service.  And then I was floored.  It turns out that my phone number is in the group of numbers that don’t get internet service yet.  Apparently the phone lines have to be of a certain type to be able to rock the DSL connection, and the ones going to my apartment are not those.  So my dreams of fast internet are on hold.  This might make blog posts a little less abundant for the near future.  And in the meantime, I’m going to figure out what it will take to get the right lines to my house.  Hopefully not much.

Written by Aaron

September 12, 2010 at 12:56 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

