Aaron in Azerbaijan

Just another blog about Azerbaijan.

Peace Corps Blogs

with 2 comments

Yes, in fact, Peace Corps does blog.  Apparently in a pretty big way.  I don’t put a whole lot of time into reading other PCV blogs, especially those in Azerbaijan.  If I want to know what’s happening, I can call them up or see them sometime or just look out my window and guess that they are taking in another bizarre Azerbaijani experience.  However, there is a PCV in South Africa who has taken this curiosity to a much more sophisticated level.  Ryan Cooper, hanging out in the Northern Cape, South Africa, decided to take a measure on the Peace Corps Journals website to see who else was prolifically blogging away while also accomplishing Goals 1, 2, and 3 of Peace Corps.

The results of his inquiry add up to a rather eclectic group of folks, with the super bloggers coming from all over, from Senegal to China, from Moldova to South Africa, and somehow including me in Azerbaijan.  Since Ryan’s post there, I’ve been posting a little less.  But when I’m not traveling on terrible roads for eight-hour stretches or trying to constantly reorganize my life here, Ryan isn’t wrong to say that I’m the group of Peace Corps Volunteers who lavish what is probably too much attention on their blogs. I can’t tell you how many times a day I might click over to see what my “Site Stats” are for any given day.  It’s almost to the point where the stats are what I’m posting for…and mine aren’t even that good.

Anyways, Ryan Cooper’s got a nice site going over there in the Northern Cape, so give it a whirl.  He was even nice enough to put up a link to my blog there.  Apparently, there’s a whole lot more diversity in Peace Corps service from eating pomegranate, long marshrutka rides, and spending your days at a developing-world bank.

Written by Aaron

October 28, 2010 at 7:44 am

Posted in Uncategorized

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. =) your blog is really one of the best Aaron and helpful in understanding Azerbaijan.

    Lena Shuster

    October 28, 2010 at 10:11 am

  2. Hey, thanks for the link love! The internet is a strange assemblage.

    Ryan Cooper

    November 1, 2010 at 12:27 pm


Leave a Reply

