Aaron in Azerbaijan

Just another blog about Azerbaijan.

A Sunday Poem

leave a comment »

In honor of International Women’s Day this week, March 8th, today’s poem is for mothers, written by Lamiya Safarova (Lamiya Səfərova).  Unfortunately, I only have the English version here.  If someone can send me the Azeri version, I’d be happy to post it up here, as well.

Mother

Dear Mother, I owe you so much,
You gave me this beautiful world.
I owe you my life, Mother.
Dear Mother, I owe you so much.

If I grow up to be a poet,
I’ll dedicate my poems and stories to you.
I’ll sacrifice myself for you.
Dear Mother, I owe you so much.

Mother, you gave me notebooks and pens
That I love more than myself.
“Just sit, don’t get up.”
“Just study,” you said.
Dear Mother, I owe you so much.

If you’d like to read some more poems from Lamiya, go to her page on Azeri.org.

Written by Aaron

March 6, 2011 at 7:44 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

