Aaron in Azerbaijan

Just another blog about Azerbaijan.

You Can Print Your Own Stamps!

with 4 comments

Apparently, I don’t know the US Postal Service very well. I had no idea you could make your own custom stamps for mailing. At least, that’s what the folks at the Karabakh Foundation would have you believe:

The Karabakh Foundation has printed postage stamps dedicated to Karabakh for the first time in the US history.

The Foundation said that these postage stamps, which are considered for sale, are a part of “Karabakh: Looking Back, Looking Forward” project. The historical monuments of Karabakh, ancient Alban churches, Shusha fortress are described on the stamps. The Karabakh Foundation will also present these stamps to the US well known stamp-collectors.

That makes it sound like you can just print up your own stamps, willy-nilly. And how cool is that? I haven’t really thought of that before, so I have no idea how you get to have your stamps approved by the USPS. It’d be a neat thing to know, though. You can view the whole line by clicking here.

This was just a surprising thing to find amongst the headlines today. And I learned a little bit about stamps. When I come out with my own line of Aaron in Azerbaijan stamps, I’ll let you know.

Written by Aaron

June 30, 2011 at 6:55 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Hey Aaron – I just realized I don’t have your email or any way to reach you, so this’ll have to do. Pardon the public self-promotion, but the flood story I worked on while playing that awesome board game (i’m sorry i’m not sorry) is finally on Eurasianet.org (http://www.eurasianet.org/node/63771). Also, I was happy they published a story about a really cool animal welfare group (http://www.eurasianet.org/node/63698) and a few weeks later, the same exact issue but in Armenia (http://www.eurasianet.org/node/63766)… Hope you’re well dude… thanks again for the coffee, the blanket and for showing me that deep down I am a deceitful, power hungry traitor.

    Vladic Ravich

    July 2, 2011 at 5:00 am

    • Shameless promotion: alright in my book. Glad to see Eurasianet is getting your work up. Seems that they take their time, don’t they?

      Aaron

      July 2, 2011 at 5:41 am

  2. It sounds a bit bit like “name your own star¨. You can find people who will take your money to name it but what then?

    Steve Hollier

    July 4, 2011 at 8:11 am


Leave a Reply

